Introducing: Beverley Robinson, Vice President British Chamber

BeverleyElections for the British Chamber of Commerce in Belgium will soon be opening up applications for elections to Council taking place in the coming months.  The Council is imperative in the smooth running of the chamber with elections taking place every two years. Beverley Robinson, Vice President, has given a peek into her history and role at the chamber and the advantages of having such a large network at her disposal.


With a background in corporate communications, I joined the British Chamber of Commerce in Belgium in 2007. I had left the corporate world the year before to set up my own leadership and executive coaching business. Having lived in Brussels for 5 years, I decided that I wanted to build my business in Belgium rather than go back to the UK. However, I faced a major challenge: I had few professional contacts in Belgium and certainly not enough to create a foundation for a successful business.

Joining the British Chamber provided the solution. I soon realised that becoming a chamber member would enable me to broaden my network and develop those all important new business connections. And to make some wonderful new friends too!

The networking possibilities encouraged me to become more actively involved in the chamber.

Given my background in communications, I initially volunteered to support the Communications Group and since then have contributed to various communications initiatives on my way to becoming a Vice-President of the British Chamber today.

My experience has clearly shown that the more you put into the chamber, the more value you get out of your membership.

I have seen much progress in the chamber over the past few years. We have developed our professional in-house team and have more of an international membership and outlook. In addition, the chamber is offering more to the business community and has enhanced its trade and development activity between the UK and Belgium. All of these recent changes have raised the profile of the chamber to new levels, which has increased the value of membership for everyone.

Now that my business, RobinsonHenry, is well-established, I continue to enjoy the benefits of the valuable business connections that membership of the chamber delivers. I strongly encourage anyone who is looking to build a business in Belgium to come along to the British Chamber to explore with us how we can help you.


For more information on the Council nominations process and timeline, please follow this link.

If you’re interested but want to know more about being a Council member, or standing for President, contact Glenn for an informal discussion.

The results of the election are to be announced at our AGM on 27 May.

Leave a Reply

